Barbara J. Runchey, President

Oscar J. Sorbe Jr., Secretary

Tyrone P. Bujold

Vivino Mason

Timothy Y. Wood

Iris Cornelius, Ph.D.

Hon Raymond R Krause

Hon. Rosanne Nathanson

Kathigan M. Mahoney

P. 02

Galtier Plaza, Suite 201 380 Jackson Street St. Paul, Minnezots 55101 (651) 297-1800 (651) 297-1196 Fax

BLE.CLE.BLC@mbcle state.mn.us www.ble.state.mn.us

TTY Users - 1-800-627-3529 Ask For 297-1857

Margaret Fuller Corneille. Esq. Director



THE SUPREME COURT OF MINNESOTA

BOARD OF LAW EXAMINERS

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

JUN 1 3 2006

FILED

June 12, 2006

Mr. Fred Grittner Clerk of Appellate Courts 305 Minnesota Judicial Center 25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. St. Paul, MN 55155

Re: Last minute amendments to proposed Lawyer Registration Rules

Dear Fred:

In my letter of May 17, 2006 concerning incorporation of the professional liability insurance reporting into the Lawyer Registration Rules, there is an error in the proposed Rule 2C(5)(I)(viii); it should state "comply with Rule 6 of these Rules." My letter incorrectly states "comply with Rule 10 of these Rules."

I found one other problem. Rule 2A(4) may not accurately state our intention. The proposed rule states: "A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law in Minnesota or in any other jurisdiction fewer than three years shall pay an annual registration fee of \$97."

I think what the current proposed rule says is that if attorney was admitted in Ohio in 1980 and admitted in Minnesota in 2006, the attorney pays the lesser fee. The attorney would be one who "has been admitted to practice law in Minnesota fewer than three years" and the rule says "or." The attorney gets the benefit of the lower fee. I believe that what we intended was that only attorneys who were newly admitted in Minnesota and newly admitted anywhere else would get the reduced amount.

If it is not too late to suggest a change, I believe that Rule 2B(4) should changed to reflect the intention to permit the reduced fee only for those attorneys who have been admitted less than 3 years in every jurisdiction. My suggestion is to amend it as follows:

"A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than vears in each and every licensing jurisdiction, including Minnesota, er in any other jurisdiction fewer than three years shall pay an annual registration fee of \$97."

Please call me if you would like to discuss this. My direct number is (651) 201-2706. Thanks so much.

Very truly yours,

MINNESOTA BOARD OF LAW EXAMINERS

Margaret Fuller Corneille

Director

abl